Log in

No account? Create an account
21 March 2004 @ 10:04 pm
The Seven Sins  
Not sure if this has been touched upon, but as I was wondering what the other sins were, I looked this up in my dad's Christian Evangelical Dictionary. For the entry of Sins, the Seven Deadly, I found this. Not sure if it's relevent, but I found it interesting:

At an early stage in the life of the church, the influence of the Greek brought (with its tendency to view sin as a necessary flaw in human nature) made it necessary for the church to determine the relative seriousnes of various moral faults. This ultimately gave rise to what is commonly referred to as the seven deadly sins--a concept that occupies an important place in the order and dicipline of the Roman Catholic church.

These sins are pride, covetousness, lust, envy, gluttony, anger, and sloth.
K.E. Kirk stresses that they are to be understood as "capital" or "root" sins rather than "deadly" or "mortal" (viz. sins which cut one off from his true last end). They are the "sinful propensities which reveal themselves in particular sinful acts." The list represents an attempt to enumerate the primary instincts that are most likely to give rise to sin.

Even though the original classification may have been more monastic in orgin, under the influence of gregory the great, the scope was widened, and along with the seven cardinal virtues they came to constitute the moral standards and tests of the early catholic church. In medieval scholasticism they were the subject of considerable attention.

Hope that was helpful and interesting. ^^
Aly: Can I eat it? x [me]mother on March 21st, 2004 10:10 pm (UTC)
So I'm guessing covetousness would be greed? o_O
Aimeefiredawn on March 21st, 2004 10:50 pm (UTC)
Yes, that's probably it. O_o;
Razzy Spazzy: Tiredrasenth on March 21st, 2004 10:29 pm (UTC)
Yes, FMA carries a religious tendency. Which makes me like it even more! :D I am a weirdo like that.

This is just a theory but... maybe it is supposed to be saying that invading so-called God's domain is a "sin", such as creating a human an unnatural way. Gasp. IT'S HUBRIS! English strikes again.. O.o
Kalika Maxwellkalikamaxwell on March 21st, 2004 10:42 pm (UTC)
*nod* Yep. Trying to copy god's creation, and thus perverting it, is a sin. Their very existance is a sin, so it was fitting to call them like that.

I'm not a believer(like Ed, wee!), but I still thing religious stuff like that can be very interesting. The way they say there is no price for their mother's soul, Al saying this is punishment for getting into god's playground, pretty neat. So I guess although Ed doesn't believe in god, Al does?

And there's Scar, who's just another one to twist stuff around. 'My god forbids usage of this science, but not for me! I get to blow people up with alchemy because I'm on a mission to kill people! Even though that's forbidden too!' And five eps later he goes 'whoops, my bad. I betrayed god.' Shesh. That guy needs love. He gets weird on his own.
Razzy Spazzy: Kimimaro: Sexy <3rasenth on March 21st, 2004 11:06 pm (UTC)
I'm Catholic/Christian. Mooha for me! XD I am not the most.. "perfect" Catholic out there. But.. meh. >_> <_< I guess Scar represents how some religious people in the past justify the sin they are doing with religious principles. *shrugs* FMA IS SO DEEP. *FALLS OVER*
Razzy Spazzy: Cid - When All Else Failsrasenth on March 21st, 2004 11:54 pm (UTC)
And because LJ is evil and does not let us edit comments.. >_>

You know that symbol on Al's shoulder and Ed's back? The one with the snake? It looks oddly similiar to the story in the Bible. These people were bitten by snakes and God told them to create a bronze snake on a cross and have them repent to it. Something close to that.

Hannukah Menorahwitzumister on March 22nd, 2004 02:34 pm (UTC)
Random interesting fact, in the latest episode of Chrno Crusade (episode 16) in one scene, there was a Satanist who was in some sort of secret 'evil-sacred' room decorated with none other than crosses with bronze snakes! 0_0 I had no idea they had any meaning at all until reading your comment.
Razzy Spazzy: Naruto: Tarzanrasenth on March 22nd, 2004 08:04 pm (UTC)
Eehhehehe, I don't like Chrno Crusade anymore. :x

BE THANKFUL FOR US RANDOM CATHOLICS WHO TAKE RELIGION CLASSES. XDDDD I always thought that snake symbol looked like the bronze cross. For some reason I never mentioned that to anybody until now. O_o;;